Settlement and Claims Information

Background on the Settlement

Understanding the Claims Process

Get help with the claims process

See Overall Claims Processing Status

Current as of October 6, 2021 Level 1 Level 2-5 Unspecified Total
Claims Received
Claims recieved through all methods of submission, including claims mailed, faxed, and submitted electronically.
96,702
28,572
1,802
127,076
Claims determined as needing more information
Claims in this category are either missing required information (for example, missing a narrative for level 2-5 claims), or some of the information received was not legible (for example a blurry name on an ID card). The Administrator makes every effort possible to reach out to these Claimants for updated information.
6,251
2,817
1,802
10,870
Claims currently in process
The Claims Administrator is processing claims in this category. Please note that the settlement agreement includes a multi-phase process that takes time to complete. Our aim is to process each claim with care, quality, and compassion.
11,547
12,680
024,227
Claims Paid
Claims where the Administrator has issued payment.
78,904 (82%)
13,075 (46%)
091,979 (72%)

Frequently Asked Questions


Updates from the Administrator

Claim Process Update – November 26, 2020

We honour the continued courage and strength of those who have submitted, or are working to submit, their Claim Form. The Claims Administrator continues to be committed to thoroughly reviewing claims in order to process in a compassionate and respectful manner as soon as possible.

In the coming weeks, some Claimants who have already submitted claims will receive a letter from the Claims Administrator with a level assessment of their Claim Form. This letter may indicate that the Claimant has been assessed at a lower level than the Claimant initially selected.

It's important to know that this decision is NOT final. Claimants can request to have their Claim Forms reconsidered by the Claims Administrator. Here is some information to guide the process: 

  • To ask for a Reconsideration, Claimants must submit a "Reconsideration Decision Form" to the Claims Administrator by fax or letter (reconsiderations cannot be processed by the call centre);
  • Claimants will have 120 days from the time they receive the Claims Administrator's notice to request a reconsideration; 
  • Claimants may choose to provide more information/documentation to support their claim at the level they initially selected.
  • Reconsideration is ONLY available to claimants that receive a level down letter.

HOW LOWER LEVEL CLAIM DECISIONS WERE MADE

The Administrator has assessed some claims at a lower level based on the information provided by the claimant in the associated claim form. The information shared in the claim form must correspond with the level being claimed in order to be determined at the level claimed. For example, if a claimant submitted a claim for a level 4 – but their claim form described abuse/harm outlined in level 2, then the claim would be determined at a level 2.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT TIMELINES

We encourage each Claimant to take time to carefully review the letter and reasons before making their decision. However, it is very important to know that if Claimants do not submit the Reconsideration Form within the 120-day period, the Claims Administrator will process the claim at the lower level and send compensation for that level. If this happens, the claim can no longer be reconsidered and the level assessed by the Claims Administrator is final.

If you do not receive a letter with an assessment, that means we are continuing to review your claim. You do not need to do anything further right now.

SUPPORT FOR CLAIMANTS

We understand that Claimants may have questions about this process. If you receive a letter and would like to request a Reconsideration, we strongly encourage you to reach out to Class Counsel for assistance. If you would like to speak with a lawyer about what next steps are available to you, please call Class Counsel at 1-844-539-3815 or email dayschools@gowlingwlg.com. Their support is free.

If you have any questions about the Claims Process, please do not hesitate to contact the Claims Administrator Call Centre at 1-888-221-2898. Note that due to an in increased volume of calls related to personal claims status, we would like to inform you that you may be waiting longer than usual to speak with someone.  The average wait time is currently more than 5 minutes. We appreciate your patience as we do our best to assist you as quickly as possible.

Informations sur le recours collectif et le règlement

Contexte du règlement

Comprendre le processus de règlement des demandes d’indemnisation

Obtenir de l’aide pour le processus de demande d’indemnisation

Voir l’état général du traitement des demandes d’indemnisation

Foire aux questions


Mises à jour de L'Administrateur

26 Novembre 2020

Nous honorons le courage et la force continus de ceux qui ont soumis ou qui travaillent à soumettre leur demande d'indemnisation. L'administrateur des demandes d'indemnisation continue de s'efforcer d'examiner attentivement les demandes afin de les traiter avec compassion et respect le plus rapidement possible.

Au cours des prochaines semaines, certains demandeurs qui ont déjà soumis des demandes d'indemnisation recevront une lettre de l'administrateur contenant une évaluation du niveau de leur demande. Cette lettre pourrait indiquer que la demande a été évaluée à un niveau inférieur que celui que le demandeur avait initialement choisi.

Il est important de savoir que cette décision n'est PAS définitive. Les demandeurs peuvent demander que leurs demandes d'indemnisation soient réexaminées par l'administrateur des demandes d'indemnisation. Voici quelques renseignements pour guider le processus:

  • Pour demander un réexamen, les demandeurs doivent soumettre par télécopieur ou par la poste un formulaire de demande de réexamen à l'administrateur des demandes d'indemnisation (les demandes de réexamen ne peuvent pas être traitées par le centre d'appels).
  • Les demandeurs auront 120 jours à compter de la réception de l'avis de l'administrateur des demandes d'indemnisation pour demander un réexamen.
  • Les demandeurs peuvent choisir de fournir plus d'information ou de documentation à l'appui de leur demande au niveau initialement choisi.

COMMENT LES DÉCISIONS QUI CHANGENT LE NIVEAU À LA BAISSE ONT ÉTÉ PRISES :

L'administrateur a évalué certaines demandes à un niveau inférieur en se fondant sur les informations fournies par le demandeur dans le formulaire de demande d'indemnisation correspondant. Les renseignements fournis dans la demande doivent correspondre au niveau sélectionné afin que la demande soit examinée à ce niveau. Par exemple, si un demandeur a présenté une demande pour un niveau 4, mais que son formulaire de demande décrit un abus ou un préjudice indiqué au niveau 2, la demande serait alors examinée au niveau 2.

RENSEIGNEMENTS IMPORTANTS SUR LES DATES LIMITES :

Nous encourageons chaque demandeur à prendre le temps d'examiner attentivement la lettre et les motifs avant de prendre sa décision. Toutefois, il est très important de savoir que si les demandeurs ne soumettent pas le formulaire de réexamen dans le délai de 120 jours, l'administrateur des demandes d'indemnisation traitera la réclamation au niveau inférieur et enverra une indemnité correspondant à ce niveau. Si cela se produit, la demande d'indemnisation ne peut plus être réexaminée et le niveau évalué par l'administrateur des réclamations est définitif.

Si vous ne recevez pas de lettre contenant une évaluation, cela signifie que nous continuons d'examiner votre demande.Vous n'avez pas à prendre d'autres mesures pour le moment.

SOUTIEN AUX DEMANDEURS :

Nous comprenons que les demandeurs peuvent avoir des questions à propos de ce processus. Si vous recevez une lettre et que vous souhaitez demander un réexamen, nous vous encourageons fortement à communiquer avec l'avocat du groupe pour obtenir de l'aide. Si vous souhaitez discuter avec un avocat des prochaines étapes qui s'offrent à vous, veuillez communiquer avec l'avocat du groupe par téléphone au 1-844‑539‑3815 ou par courriel à l'adresse dayschools@gowlingwlg.com. Le soutien est gratuit.

Si vous avez des questions sur ce processus de demande d'indemnisation, n'hésitez pas à communiquer avec le centre d'appels de l'administrateur des demandes d'indemnisation au 1‑888‑221‑2898.

Veuillez noter qu'en raison de l'augmentation du nombre d'appels liés à l'état des demandes personnelles, nous aimerions vous informer que vous pourriez attendre plus longtemps que d'habitude pour parler à quelqu'un. Le temps d'attente moyen est actuellement supérieur à 5 minutes. Nous vous remercions de votre patience, car nous faisons de notre mieux pour vous aider le plus rapidement possible.